SALE, POSSESSION AND USE OF ASSAULT WEAPONS
The absolute most typical weapons charges fall under the category of the purchase or control of an unlawful gun or .50 BMG rifle. The sale and control of these weapons is made unlawful under Penal Code parts 30600-30675.
Someone charged with the unlawful purchase or transfer of an assault weapon or a .50 BMG rifle faces a felony charge punishable by imprisonment for four, six, or eight years. A person charged with simple control of a weapon may be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances. A misdemeanor attack weapons charge holds a potential term of imprisonment for up to one year and/or probation plus fines. If charged as a felony, the term is 16 months, two, or three more years imprisonment plus a fine. Simple possession of a .50 BMG gun is a misdemeanor with a penalty of up to one year imprisonment and/or probation plus fines.
DIFFERENT GUN CRIMES
There are numerous other regulations in the State of California that make it criminal to utilize or possess a gun in certain areas or in specific areas. Examples of gun crimes in CA include, but are not restricted to:
- Bringing a gun on general public or exclusive school home, or even within 1000 feet of the school grounds, is an offense punishable by up to seven many years imprisonment;
- Holding a concealed weapon without a license is a misdemeanor with a sentence of up to one year in jail and/or fines;
- Attack with a firearm holds stiffer penalties. It's almost always charged as a felony (although attack with a simple revolver can be charged as a misdemeanor) and holds a term of up to twelve more years imprisonment.
These examples are but a few under California's gun laws and regulations. The State of CA often punishes gun crimes severely and if you find yourself charged under any of these statutes, you should consult instantly with an experienced criminal defense attorney.